The Forest Stewardship Council is the only certification system that requires a consensus solution when conflicts arise between logging companies and indigenous communities.

More than 140 publishers, including many of the world’s largest, have strong environmental policies.

When the goals set forth in the Book Industry Treatise on Responsible paper use are realized over 5 million trees will be preserved each year.

Each pound of postconsumer recycled fiber that replaces a ton of virgin fiber prevents the release of 2,108 lbs. of greenhouse gas emissions.

In 2006, an Opinion Research Corporation poll revealed that 80% of readers are willing to pay more for books printed on recycled and environmentally responsible paper.

Over the course of its lifecycle, postconsumer recycled fiber requires 30-40% less energy than virgin fiber.

 

Southeast US
Canadian Boreal
Indonesia
Indonesia
 
Support the Boreal Conservation Framework
FBoreal Songbird Initiative
Canadian Boreal Initiative
Boreal Reports and Articles
Boreal Reports and Articles
 
   

Solutions - Industry Leaders Leading the Way

Bestwebsitemaker

Book industry stakeholders  that have adopted strong environmental policies or signed the Book Industry Treatise on Environmentally Responsible Publishing

 

Publishers  Paper Manufactures  Printers  Merchants Book Sellers  Publishing Organizations

Large Book Publishers

Hachette Book Group U.S.       www.hachettebookgroup.com
McGraw Hill*       www.mcgraw-hill.com                                                                        
Pearson*       www.pearson.com
Random House       www.randomhouse.com
Scholastic       www.scholastic.com 
Simon and Schuster       www.simonandschuster.com
Thomas Nelson       www.thomasnelson.com

 

Small/Mid-sized Publishers

Adonis Designs Press       www.adonisdesignspress.com
Adventure Trail – Publishing       http://www.at7.us
Africana Homestead Legacy Publishers       www.ahlpub.com
AIO Publishing       www.aiopublishing.com
Alice James Books       www.alicejamesbooks.org
Allies Publishing       www.alliespublishing.com
AMCO International Education Services, Inc       www.amcoonline.net
Amber Lotus Publishing       www.amberlotus.com
Angels Enterprise
Angel's Food For Thought       www.angelsfoodforthought.com
Ash Tree Publishing       www.ashtreepublishing.com
A.T. Kearney       www.atkearney.com
Ausable Press       www.ausablepress.org
Avalon Travel Publishing       www.travelmatters.com
Ave Maria Press       www.avemariapress.com
Baker Publishing Group       www.bakerpublishinggroup.com
Bay Tree Publishing                         www.baytreepublish.com
Berkshire Publishing Group       www.berkshirepublishing.com
BFS Business Printing       www.bfsprinters.com
Blooming Rose Press       www.bloomingrosepress.com
Blue Jean Press       www.bluejeanpublishing.com
Blue Line Publishing       www.blpress.com
Bluestone Quarry Press        www.abebooks.com
Book Publishing Company       www.bookpubco.com
BuilderBooks       www.nahb.org/page.aspx/landing/sectionID=4
Caliber Publications       www.growinglifestyle.com  
Candlewick Press       www.candlewick.com/
Canopy Publishing       www.canopypublishing.com
CBP/Chalice Press       www.cbp21.com 
Chelsea Green Publishing       www.chelseagreen.com
Chronicle Books       www.chroniclebooks.com
Columbia University Press       www.cc.columbia.edu/cu/cup
CommonAct Press       www.commonact.com                    
Continuum International Publishing       www.continuum-books.com
Conscious Enlightenment Media       www.cenlightenment.com
Conversari House       www.conversari.com  
Cornell University Press       www.cornellpress.cornell.edu
Corvus Publishing Company                 
Cougar Creek Press, LLC
Council Oak Books       www.counciloakbooks.com  
Christian Board of Publication/Chalice Press       www.cbp21.com                     
Crestport Press       www.crestport.com
Crow Flies Press       www.crowfliespress.com/
Cypress House       www.cypresshouse.com
Deer Hill Press       www.deerhillpress.com
Dogtooth Books       www.dogtoothbooks.com
Dragon’s Beard Publishing        www.dragonsbeard.com
Dreams Shared Publications       www.dspublications.com  
Eaglecliff Incorporated       www.eaglecliff.us
Ecotone Publishing       www.ecotonedesign.com
Enjae Design and Marketing       www.enjaedesign.com
Emergency Press       www.emergencypress.org
Epicenter Press       www.epicenterpress.com
Ester Republic Press
Etham Books       www.ethambooks.com
Etruscan Press       www.etruscanpress.org
Ezra's Earth Publishing       www.ezrasengine.com
Fairview Press       www.fairviewpress.org
First Books/Inkwater Press       www.inkwaterpress.com
Five Wisdoms Press
Freeman Press
Four Way Books       www.fourwaybooks.com
Free Spirit Publishing       www.freespirit.com 
Fulcrum Publishing       www.fulcrumbooks.com
GBL&CLjr Publishing       www.gopopsi.com
Georgetown University Press       www.press.georgetown.edu
Ghigo Press       www.ghigopress.com 
Gibbs Smith Publisher       www.gibbs-smith.com
Global Dialogue Press
Good Spirited Company       www.goodspirited.com
Greenline Publications       www.greenlinepub.com
Gryphon House       www.ghbooks.com
Gurze Books       www.gurze.com
Hampton Roads Publishing       www.hamptonroadspub.com
Harpur Palate       http://harpurpalate.binghamton.edu
Harvard University Press       www.hup.harvard.edu
Headwaters Publishing       www.headwaterspublishing.com                                    
Healing Tree Arts
Heyday Books       www.heydaybooks.com
High Country News       www.hcn.org
Impact Publishers       www.impactpublishers.com
Inner Ocean Publishing       www.innerocean.com
InterVarsity Press       www.ivpress.com
Inscribed       www.inscribed.org 
Insideout Publishing
Island Press       www.islandpress.org
Jewish Lights Publishing       www.jewishlights.com    
Kedzie Press       www.kedziepress.com
Keene Publishing       www.keenebooks.com
Knock Journal       www.knockjournal.org
Krishnamurti Publications       www.kfa.org
Labrys Books       www.olympicodyssey.com
LamaYeshe Wisdom Archive       www.lamayeshe.com
Lake Claremont Press       www.lakeclaremont.com
Lantern Books       www.lanternbooks.com
Leaping Dog Press       www.leapingdogpress.com
Legendary Publishing       www.legendarypublishing.com                  
Lerner Publishing Group       www.lernerbooks.com
Les Figues Press       www.lesfiguespress.com 
Life Arts Press       www.lifeartspress.com
LifeTime Media, Inc.        www.lifetimemedia.com
Liturgy Training Publications       www.ltp.org
Lost Horse Press        www.losthorsepress.org 
Lotus Petal Publishing       www.lotuspetalpublishing.com
Loving Healing Press       www.lovinghealing.com
Lucid Publishing       www.lucid-hawaii.com
Magiscule Publishing Group       www.magiscule.com
Media Visions Press       www.media-visions.com
Mercer University Press       www.mupress.org
Michigan State University Press       www.msupress.msu.edu
Middleway Press       www.middlewaypress.com
Milkweed Editions       www.milkweed.org
Minnesota Historical Society Press       www.mnhs.org/market/mhspress 
Moment Point Press       www.momentpoint.com
Moon Willow Press       www.moonwillowpress.com  
Mountaineers Books       www.mountaineersbooks.org
Mountain Trail Press       www.mountaintrailpress.com
Nature Study Guild Book       www.naturestudy.com
New Village Press       www.newvillagepress.net
New World Library                        www.newworldlibrary.com
New Magnolia Publishers                                                     
Newmarket Press        www.newmarketpress.com
Nova Publishing Company       www.novapublishing.com
Nomad Press       www.nomad-press.com
Ocean Publishing       www.ocean-publishing.com
Old Harbor Books       www.oldharborbooks.com
Olligan Press/Portland State University Press       www.ooliganpress.pdx.edu
Pamoon Press       www.pamoonpress.com
Parallax Press       www.parallax.org 
Patria Press, Inc.       www.patriapress.com
Pathfinders Publishing       www.pathpub.com                                                                        
Penthe Publishing       www.penthepub.com
Periplum Editions       www.ecopoetics.org
Personhood Press       www.personhoodpress.com
Philograph Press       www.philograph.com
Pinnacle Press       www.pinnaclepress.com
PixyJack Press       www.PixyJackPress.com
Price Tag Music
Pruett Publishing       www.pruettpublishing.com
Punkin House, LLC       www.punkinhousepress.com
Raincoast Books       www.raincoast.com
Raston Publishing       www.rastonpublishing.com
Rawle & Windsor Publishing       www.ralewindsor.com                                                      
Red Hills Writers Project       www.redhillswritersproject.org
River Birch Publishing       www.riverbirchpublishing.com
RLI Press                         www.roadtripdream.com
Rock Spring Press        www.rockspringpress.com
Safe Goods Publishing       www.safegoodspub.com
Sagaponack Books       www.sagbooks.com 
Sat Yuga Press       www.satyuga.com
Sea Turtle Publishing       www.seaturtlepublishing.info
Seven Stories Press       www.sevenstories.com
Shopping Secrets Pty Ltd       www.shoppingsecrets.com
Sierra Club Books       www.sierraclub.org
Silver Light Publications       www.silverlightpub.com
Silver Lining, an imprint of Barnes & Noble       www.barnesandnoble.com
Sleepy Hollow Books       www.sleepyhollowbooks.com    
Snow Lion Publications       www.snowlionpub.com
Sorin Books       www.sorinbooks.com
South End Press       www.southendpress.org
Sounds True Publishing       www.soundstrue.com
Southern Ilinois University Press       www.siu.edu/~siupresss
Speck Press       www.speckpress.com
St. Dymphna Press       www.stdymphnapress.com
Steiner Books       www.steinerbooks.org
Square One Publishing       www.squareonepublishers.com
Tales of the Tree People       www.talesofthetreepeople.com
Ten Speed/Celestial Arts/Tricycle       www.tenspeedpress.com
The Eco Seekers       www.theecoseekers.com
The Haworth Press       www.haworthpressinc.com 
Tide Dancer Publications       www.tidedancer.com                    
Tower Publishing       www.towerpub.com 
Unison Media Group       www.unisonmediagroup.com
Univ of North Carolina Press       www.uncpress.unc.edu
University of California Press       www.ucpress.edu
University of Georgia Press       www.ugapress.uga.edu
University of Iowa Press       http://www.uiowapress.org 
University of Kansas Press       www.kansaspress.ku.edu 
University of Minnesota Press       www.upress.umm.edu
University of Misssouri Press       www.system.missouri.edu/upress                  
University of Notre Dame Press       www.nd.edu/~undpress
University Press of New England       www.upne.com
University of Wisconsin Press       www.wisc.edu/wisconsinpress
Vendantic Shores Press       www.vedanticshorespress.com
Valeveil       www.valeveil.se
Vital Health Publishing       www.vitalhealthbooks.com
Wesleyan University Press       www.wesleyan.edu/wespress
Wildcat Canyon Press       www.wildcatcanyon.com 
WildNature       www.wild-nature.org
Wildfire Press
Wisdom Publications       www.wisdompubs.org
Wolverine Farm Publishing       www.matterjournal.com
Wooster Book Company       www.woosterbook.com
World Bank Press       http://publications.worldbank.org
World Resources Institute       www.wri.org
Worldwatch Institute       www.worldwatch.org
World Tribune        www.sgi-usa.org/publications/world_tribune 
Woza Books       www.wozabooks.com
Yale University Press       http://yalepress.yale.edu/yupbooks/home.asp
Youthful Wisdom Press        www.youthfulwisdompress.com  
Zumaya Publications LLC       www.zumayapublications.com

 

Paper Manufacturers

Arctic Paper       www.arcticpaper.com
Cascades Fine Paper Group       www.cascades.com
Dirigo Paper       www.dirigopaper.com 
Gray’s Harbor Paper       www.ghplp.com 
Flambeau River Paper                 
Myllikoski       www.myllikoski.com

 

Printers

Bang Printing       www.bangprinting.com
Bethany Press       www.bethanypress.com
BFS Business Printing       www.bfsprinters.com
Colorado Printing Company       www.coloradoprinting.com
Digital Graphix (DGX)        www.dgxpod.com
Integrated Book Technology (IBT Global)        www.integratedbook.com 
Fidlar Doubleday        www.fidlardoubleday.com
Friesens Corporation       www.friesens.com  
Green Toad Printers       www.greentoadprinters.com
grgprint.com       www.grgprint.com                                    
Henry Sawyer       www.henrysawyer.com
King Printing Company       www.kingprinting.com                  
Maple-Vail Book Manufacturing Group       www.maple-vail.com
McNaughton & Gunn       www.bookprinters.com
Monroe Litho       www.monroelitho.com
Odyssey Press Inc       www.odysseypress.com                  
Pinnacle Press       www.pinnaclepress.com
Poligrafica C.A.       www.poligrafica.com
Sawyer Printers       www.sawyerprinters.com
Starnet Media Group       www.stardesign.com
Thomson-Shore Book Manufacturing        www.tshore.com
United Book Press, Inc.        www.unitedbookpress.com

Webcom, Inc.       www.webcomlink.com

 

Merchants                                                                          

New Leaf Paper       www.newleafpaper.com

 

Booksellers

Boswell’s Books       www.boswellsbooks.com
Greentextbooks.org       www.greentextbooks.org   
Powell’s       www.powells.com
My Friend’s Bookstore       www.myfriendsbookstore.com

 

Book Rental Companies

Bookrenter.com       http://www.bookrenter.com
BookSwim.com       http://www.bookswim.com

 

Book Designers

Laura Shaw Design, Inc.       www.lshawdesign.com
Claire-Bare-Design       www.claire-bare-design.com
Green Publishing       www.greenpublishing.com.au

 

Publishing Organizations

Colorado Independent Publishers Association       www.cipa.org
Independent Book Publishers Association  (IBPA)        www.pma-online.org  
Protestant Church-owned Publishers Association       www.pcpaonline.org
Small Publishers Association of North America (SPAN)       http://www.spannet.org

 

Other Industry Stakeholders

Swets       www.swets.com


 

Home | About Us | Impact Areas | Understanding Solutions | Action Steps | Book Industry | Newspaper Industry | Newsletters | Sitemap | Contact